Double page guest designer @ stick it down

Hello There,

I got the pleasure to be the guest designer for the double page spread after submitting my layout a few months ago and it being chosen 🙂 below is the sketch I was giving which I thought was really interesting as it was really up for interpretation!

We went to Poland a few years ago before we had our son but that was before I had a fancy camera (just a little compact,) so I knew I didn’t want the photos to be too big as the quality wasn’t great with any of the photos. It was one of those filler holidays where we didn’t quite know where to go but seemed like a good idea, unfortunately my husband was sick pretty much the whole time we were there and missed most of our prearranged trips. We did manage to go to the salt mines (if you go don’t be tempted to lick the walls) and the amazing interactive museum in the town hall, I would love to go back as the people and place was just fantastic, and the snow was beautiful!

imgl8341

I started by using probably quite a bold pattern for the background from the Shimelle Starshine line (I love that line, I’m actually considering getting a second 12×12 paper pack)  created the diagonal stripe with more Starshine paper and added stitching to the top edge and added ample amounts of gold mist. I matted all the photos on paper and added a few strips of paper from the Shimelle True Stories line for the bottom grounding elements.

imgl8333

I tucked in lots of little paper elements from both lines to create a cluster at the top edge and room for journalling, and some pom pom thread and cotton thread to add some texture. I added some chipboard stars and flowers and painstakingly cut out the globe from another paper (I am not good at cutting things out)

imgl8331

I added turquoise glitter thickers for the very original title, and added dots of nuvo crystal drops in dandelion yellow. I love love love those drops – they look exactly like enamel dots but you can obviously added them in any place and size you like. I got my first one in the Crafty Templates kit a few months back and now need every colour!

Thanks for reading and thanks to stick it down for letting have a go at this fun sketch!

 

Author: koala

Hi There. I'm a new craft addict in the UK.

Leave a Reply

